How to dry fresh bay leaves


I have some fresh bay leaves from my Dad’s garden.

I have been using them in soups and casseroles in the fresh form.

I prefer them fresh, but dried some of them so that they are not wasted and so I have some in the coming months when I need them.

This is how I dried the bay leaves….

First I picked off the leaves that were in good condition.

I washed and thoroughly dried each individual leaf.

I laid each leaf on a baking tray and put in an oven (66 degrees Celsius /150 degrees Fahrenheit) for 40 mins.

The leaves will curl a little and become brittle.

I removed them from the oven.

When they were completely cooled, I remove them from the tray and stored in an airtight glass container.

I think that I will have enough leaves for the next 6 months of cooking.

Leave a Reply

